Serendipity

love

Her
Our relationship wasn’t always easy. Just like every married couple will tell you, we’ve had our fair share of rough times. But then again, so did Prince Charming and Cinderella. That’s the one thing fairy tales don’t prepare you for.

Our story didn’t start so easy either but it was romantic. So romantic. I was in sixth form when I first met Him. He was popular. I was not. I spent my days staring at Him from behind my locker door wondering what it would be like to talk to Him. He was a mysterious character. He never really spoke and that didn’t help.

One day he caught me staring at Him. I blushed like mad, feeling embarrassed. Instead of looking scared, He walked passed me, smiling.

That was the last encounter we had for a while and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Typical teenage behaviour: daydreaming, gushing about him to my friends until they got sick of listening, imagining what it would be like if he felt the same way. I did everything a teenager does when she falls in love – minus doodling his name on my textbook. That’s where I drew the line.

Him
Everyday I spend with Her is like the first. She is the love of my life and we’ve been married for 65 years. Although I’ve loved Her the moment I met Her, we didn’t tell each other how we felt until we reunited four years after we’d finished high school. That was the best moment of my life.

I haven’t always been this expressive. I’m a man. We don’t tend to reveal our true emotions and back when I was in high school I couldn’t handle rejection. I kick myself everyday for having left it so long.

One day I was looking at Her as She opened Her locker door and that was it. She peered at me from behind the locker door and I blushed. I felt like an idiot. I walked passed her, smiling.

I never told her about that – until now.

Her
If I could turn back time, I would have told Him how I felt sooner, but you know how it is at that age. You always hope he will be the one to make the first move. But this is the 21st century, ladies. We should be controlling our love stories. Life does not function like a fairy tale – no matter how much we want it to.

So the years went passed and I kept my feelings hidden. It was hard. It was painful. But soon I was getting ready to go to university and hoped I would meet someone else helping me to forget. I did meet someone. I met many people who made me feel sexy and loved.

However, whilst I wished I could, I never felt the same way about these suitors the way I felt about Him, but they were very good distractions.

Him
When I left for university I tried to forget about Her. I just assumed I’d find someone else. Have a typical student life. Eventually settle down with someone. It all seemed so simple back then.

Let’s just say, I ended up being a bit of a player during my years at university. I decided never to fall in love again. I thought it was more trouble than it was worth, so I would always keep every woman at arm’s length. “Love” only lasted for one night.

I never used the word “love” at university – even in my head. I felt like it was overused, making it futile.

Her
My university years passed, and then a year after I graduated I got a job as a lawyer at a firm in London. My life was going the way I planned it. Well, almost.

I had the degree. I had the job. I had the apartment. But it became more and more depressing, cooking for one. I did miss having someone around. He was always that one guy that got away.

A few months later I was on my way to work, running across the busy roads of London and next thing I knew I was whisked away by a mystery man.

My heart stopped.
I had to rub my eyes thoroughly.
I couldn’t believe it.
It was Him.

It turned out he had just been offered a job in the same building I worked. What’s that word for bumping into that person you’ve loved that got away? Oh yes. Fate.

Ironically I let him go for so many years, and always resisted the urge to think about him and now that he was holding me, I wanted to hold onto Him forever.

From that day on, we’d made plans to meet up every day for two weeks: talking and talking. Catching up on all the years we had missed. Actually, one day I reminded Him that this was the first time we had talked directly to each other since we first met. We both let out this unrestrained laugh. I had never felt so complete.

Him
I was on my way to work for my first day, feeling nervous and jittery. As I was walking into the building, I heard a loud car horn as it almost hit a woman running across the road. I ran, panicking, and pushed her out of the way, holding her tightly. We dodged the car by inches. I couldn’t believe I was staring into Her beautiful eyes after so many years.

It didn’t take long before we were chatting like old times, back into our old routine. However, this time we were older, wiser and cooler than we were before. I couldn’t let Her go again without asking her out on a proper date. We went out together every day for weeks and it felt so natural. Like we’d never been apart.

Fast-forward to the present day and as you know, we’ve been married for 65 years with two beautiful children and four of you as our grandchildren. We used to tell this story to your mothers when they were little. It gives us so much joy to pass on the story to you.

Her&Him
It’s our 65th wedding anniversary – that makes us blue sapphires. We can’t think of a better way to spend our wedding anniversary than with our six miracles.

[They lay in each other’s arms that night, holding hands. Their eyes closed, as they slipped away together.]

Leave a Reply

